Save our forest !

We are a ridiculous country. And we ‘are’ a ridiculous bunch of people. The more I look around, my belief in this gets only stronger. We do things so conveniently that it is surprising. We conveniently believe when it’s a forest and we conveniently forget when we think its not. Who gives us the right to cut those trees so mercilessly? There are many people who care about the nature. But there are many more, who really do not at all. Sitting in our homes, watching television on a Saturday morning, we can conveniently ignore all those posts that we keep skipping on social media. There are people who are fighting for their lives. Forest is their home. What about the animals and birds in that forest? Who will be their voice to save their homes? Do we really care? Should ‘we’ really care ?

I don’t know how many people have watched the Academy award winning movie Avatar. It is one of my favourite movies. There is a ‘Tree of souls’ which has magical healing powers. The natives of the planet ‘Na’vi people’, strongly feel for it and believe in it. Their souls are connected to the tree. When they sense fear and are threatened by humans who reach this planet only to destroy it for their selfish greedy desires, Na’vis fight their lives to save it. The movie had a happy ending. Because, the natives won in that movie. They won against the cruel humans and in an ideal world, the Nature won. But that’s only the ideal world. Not the world that we live in. In the world ‘we’ live in, we kill our planet with plastic, pollution, garbage and with lack of empathy.

Since I have started nurturing the houseplants ,I have become all the more sensitive about these issues. I talk to my plants and feel happy when they grow. I sense their happiness. Even my 3 years old niece knows that at night, plants go to sleep. It is their time to rest. We must not disturb them. Then what on earth were these Government officials doing while cutting down those trees at midnight !! I look at these videos where the tribals are requesting, pleading and crying their hearts out in front of the cops, it really breaks my heart.

The government which is so ignorant about other stark issues that the citizen are facing, becomes so active and prompt when it comes to cutting down the forest ? Why, because it is going to mint money through real estate ! It is shameful. The government must very well feel shameful for what they are doing to the city. There was a time when most people didn’t care but when you see so a huge crowd getting on the roads to protest and the ‘Sarkar’ is even taking away that basic right from them, really enrages me.

I don’t care who is running the Government and this is not an anti Government post. This is simply the rage of a citizen who cares for the city she lives in. I will find ways to support those who care for the city. I hope in this battle, we win….

Feature image courtesy – @Change.org

Leave a comment